Federal Indian Law & Tribal Law Research

Tribal Indian Law

HeinOnline Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law, Constitutions, Acts, & By-Laws (paywall)
Link directly when signed in or scroll down to "Indigenous," then select Constitutions, Acts, & By-Laws.
more...less...
With more than 4,000 titles and 2.3 million pages dedicated to indigenous American life and law, this library includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. It also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.
Library of Congress: Native American Constitutions and Legal Materials (free)
The Law Library holds most of the laws and constitutions from the early 19th century produced by the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole who were forced to leave the Southeast for the Indian Territory after passage of the Indian Removal Act in 1830.
National Indian Law Library: Researching Tribal Codes and Constitutions (free)
How to research Tribal Codes and Constitutions. Locate constitutions by Tribe on the Tribal Law Gateway. The list also details whether a Tribe is federally recognized, state recognized or not recognized.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse: Tribal Constitutions (free)
List of tribal nations who post their constitutions on their websites.

Bureau of Indian Affairs: Tribal Leaders Directory (free)
Consisting of 576 tribes and may be filtered by tribe, agency, name, address, phone, or email.
National Indian Law Library: Tribal Law Gateway (free)
Locate codes by Tribe. The list also details whether a Tribe is federally recognized, state recognized or not recognized.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse Tribal Laws/Codes (free)
The following Tribes post their Tribal Laws/Codes online. Please note that codes are systematic collections of laws organized by subject matter.
HeinOnline Indian Tribal Codes: A Microfiche Collection of Indian Tribal Law Codes (paywall)
Digitized historical collection. Browse by Edition or by Tribe (default).
Lexis’ Tribal Codes (paywall)
Link directly if signed in OR Home > Native American Law > All Tribal Codes. List of eight tribes.
Westlaw's Tribal Codes (paywall)
Link directly if signed in OR Home > Statutes > Tribal under Other U.S. Jurisdictions. List of 24 tribes.

National Indian Law Library: Tribal Courts and Court Opinion Resources
Read about tribal court opinion research in Researching American Indian Tribal Law.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse: Tribal Court Decisions
List of Tribes who post some or all their Tribal Court Opinions on their websites.
UW School of Law Gallagher Law Library: Tribal Court Decisions page
Comprehensive page regarding tribal courts including a video, articles, if/where tribes publish their court decisions, and a document (below) listing sources of tribal court records (last updated 1/3/22).
Tribal Court Decisions Sources
Document (only) by Mary Whisner of the UW School of Law Gallagher Law Library.

National Indian Law Library Tribal Court Cases
Select cases only; more regular coverage from 2016 – present
Northwest Intertribal Court System
NICS' appellate reporters include all opinions issued by the tribal courts of appeal administered by NICS during those times that NICS actually administered those courts. Some of the tribes with opinions published here may now or at various times in the past have administered their own court of appeals that issued opinions published elsewhere or not at all (select tribes).
Southwest Intertribal Court of Appeals
The SWITCA Reporter includes all cases and opinions issued by the Court beginning with its first case in 1990 (select tribes).
National Indian Law Library: Indian Law Reporter
Tribal Court Cases Index, current through Volume 40, No. 12: December 2013.