Poverty Law & Policy

"CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives. CRS services come in many forms: reports on major policy issues; tailored confidential memoranda, briefings and consultations; seminars and workshops; expert congressional testimony."

"This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976."

"GAO provides Congress, the heads of executive agencies, and the public with timely, fact-based, non-partisan information that can be used to improve government and save taxpayers billions of dollars. Our work is done at the request of congressional committees or subcommittees or is statutorily required by public laws or committee reports, per our Congressional Protocols."

"The Government Publishing Office (GPO) is a Federal legislative branch agency established in 1861. GPO’s mission is rooted in legislation codified in Title 44 U.S.C. and is the Federal Government’s resource for publishing trusted information for the Federal Government to the American people. The GPO is responsible for the production and distribution of information products and services for all three branches of the Federal Government, including U.S. passports for the Department of State as well as the official publications of Congress, the White House, and other Federal agencies in digital and print formats. GPO’s website is available at www.gpo.gov and is helpful for current Federal agency customers, vendors looking for contract opportunities, prospective Federal agency customers, and anyone who wants to learn about GPO and available resources."

"Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks."

"JSTOR hosts a growing curated collection of more than 45,000 open research reports from 187 think tanks and research institutes from around the world. These publications are freely accessible to everyone on JSTOR and discoverable as their own content type alongside journals, books, and primary sources. We update research reports on our platform each month as they become available through contributing institutes."

"The Open Think Tank directory aims to pull together key information about policy organisations into one place. Today, it features public information for more than 3,600 organisations worldwide. The directory supports sector transparency and information accessibility. That’s why it’s an open database — it’s available in its entirety to download and use for non-commercial purposes under a Creative Commons license."

"Millions of reports from think tanks, agencies, and cities—with tools to supercharge your research."

"The Global Go To Think Tank Index is the result of an international survey of over 1,950 scholars, public and private donors, policy makers, and journalists who helped rank more than 6,500 think tanks using a set of 18 criteria developed by the TTCSP."

"A monthly selection of EU-related papers published by think tanks across the world."