Capstone Research

Legal Research Databases & Legal News

Westlaw Primary and secondary sources, including practitioner materials. 
Lexis  Primary and secondary sources, including practitioner materials. 
Bloomberg Law Primary and secondary sources, including practitioner materials. Docket search function for those interested in court documents. 
Fastcase Primary sources. Fastcase is available for free to members of the Nevada State Bar.
HeinOnline Primary and secondary sources. Sources are arranged into multiple collections, including American Indian law, historical archives of state statutes and reports, federal legislative history, civil rights and social justice, and many more. To access law review articles, go to the Law Journal Library collection.

 

Law360 Legal news source that provides analysis on particular practice areas and industries
Bloomberg Law News Legal news source
Greenwire News about environmental law
Environment & Energy Daily Legal news relating to the environment and energy
Jurist Legal news and commentary
ABA Journal News and analysis from the ABA

Check out the Lightning Lesson on Law360 and Legal News for more information about using these resources. 

Non-Law Research Databases

If you are writing a Capstone that touches on an interdisciplinary topic, you may need to research in databases outside of Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg. 

To locate non-law databases, use Lied's database search function. For more information about using Lied's databases, check out this Lightning Lesson.

While not exhaustive, below is a table of some of the databases available to you: 

APA PsycINFO American Psychological Association's database containing journal articles, books, and dissertations.
EBSCO Ebook Collection Access to ebooks on a broad range of topics. Access to scholarly publications on a broad range of topics.
ERIC Journals, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Part of EBSCO.
JSTOR Journals, book chapters, and other publications on a broad range of topics. 
PubMed Access to MEDLINE, a database of indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles covering topics in medicine, health care, and veterinary care, along with additional life sciences journals.
Web of Science Citation data for multiple indexes including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 

 

Statistical Information

If your Capstone requires statistical information, you may find the following resources helpful: 

Statista Statistics, studies, industry reports and more covering multiple industries and topics
Census.gov Data from US Census, surveys, and reports

For a list of Lied Library databases providing statistical information, please visit https://guides.library.unlv.edu/az.php?a=all&t=21990

News

Through both the law library and Lied, you have access to many newspapers (current and archived). Some databases that provide access to newspapers include Nexis, PressReader, and US Newsstream.

For more information about searching for news, see the News Libguide.