Intellectual Property

A plain-English guide to intellectual property law Whether you are in the world of business or creative arts, you need to understand the laws that govern your work. But given the convoluted terminology that surrounds patents, copyrights, trademarks, and other intellectual property rights, this isn't easy. Enter, Patent, Copyright & Trademark, which explains: what legal rights apply to your creations, products, or inventions the scope of copyright protection how trademark law works, and what trade-secret law protects. Here, you'll find plain-English definitions of intellectual property law terms, straightforward explanations of how intellectual property law affects online content, and much more. The 15th edition is completely updated to provide the latest laws, court decisions, and sample forms.

What copyright law protects....and doesn't No writers like to see their hard work or creativity copied by others - or to be accused of copying. Fortunately, The Copyright Handbook provides everything you need to protect yourself! Find information and forms to help you: register your work maximize copyright protection transfer ownership of copyright avoid infringement deal with infringers understand the "fair use" rule get permission to use copyrighted work profit from your copyright This edition is updated to provide the latest copyright regulations, forms and rules for filing a copyright application.

The best way for developers to protect their software is to register their copyright. If they don't, they will have little or no recourse against infringers. Copyright Your Software provides step-by-step instructions and all the forms one needs to register their copyright.

Find free content and save on permission fees! Millions of creative works--books, artwork, photos, songs, movies, and more--are available copyright-free in the public domain. Whether your tastes run more Jane Austen or Jane Eyre, Beethoven or Irving Berlin, Edvard Munch or Claude Monet, you'll find inspiration in The Public Domain. The only book that helps you find and identify which creative works are protected by copyright and which are not, The Public Domain covers the rules for: writings music art photography architecture maps choreography movies video software databases collections The 8th edition is completely updated with hundreds of new online and digitized public domain resources. The book covers the latest legal developments regarding copyright and the public domain--from state copyright policies to free and low-cost legal advice for creative types to copyright issues regarding photos lacking human authorship, and much more!

Introductory manual that addresses key questions about copyright, such as ownership, duration, and what can be copyrighted.

Want to use copyrighted material? Better get permission first. If you plan to use any copyrighted material for your own purposes, you need to get permission first from the owners of that work. If you don't, you could find yourself slapped with an expensive and time-consuming lawsuit. Getting Permission tackles the permissions process head-on -- without the legalese. It shines the light on whom to ask for permission, as well as when -- and how much to expect -- to pay for permission. Comprehensive and easy-to-read, the book covers: * the copyright permission process * the public domain ("free" content) * how to figure out who owns a copyright * the "fair use" rule * school-related permissions * license and merchandise agreements * using trademark and fictional characters * website permissions * and much more Getting Permission includes agreements for acquiring authorization to use text, photographs, artwork, and music, whether it's found online or off. The edition of this essential guide is completely updated to reflect the latest laws and court decisions. Plus, read an all-new collection of practical, real-life FAQs, based on author Richard Stim's popular intellectual property blog, Dear Rich: Nolo's Patent, Copyright & Trademark Blog. -- With Downloadable Forms